- Tobacco Costs Lives and Health Care Dollars in Oregon
- Tobacco Cessation Best Practices for Physicians
- Tobacco Cessation Links and Resources
- Smoke-Free Cars for Kids
The statistics below are from the Oregon Health Authority Tobacco Prevention and Education Program's 2011 report Oregon Tobacco Facts & Laws:
- According to Oregon physician reports through death certificates, tobacco contributed to 6,965 deaths in 2007 (22.2 percent of all deaths in Oregon)
- Tobacco cost Oregonians nearly $2.4 billion in 2009 ($1,254,900,000 in direct medical expenditures; $1,142,400,000 in indirect costs of lost productivity due to premature death)
- The total cost to Oregonians of a single pack of cigarettes is $13.27
Research has shown that physician advice is the most effective tool in getting people to quit smoking. The 5As Intervention, adapted from the U.S. Public Health Service Clinical Practice Guideline, "Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence," recommended by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and analyzed in 16 randomized clinical trials, has proven to be time- and cost-effective.
ASK all patients about their smoking status.
ADVISE all smoking patients to quit, providing clear, strong advice with personalized messages about the impact of smoking.
ASSESS the willingness of the patient to make a quit attempt within the next 30 days.
ASSIST patients with problem solving methods, self-help smoking cessation materials, medications and referrals for counseling and support.
ARRANGE for continued follow-up and encouragement, reassessing smoking status.
The Oregon Quit Line provides free, high quality services to Oregonians who want to quit using tobacco. The numbers to call are:
- 1-877-2NO-FUME (Spanish)
- 1-877-777-6532 (TTY)
Oregon's tobacco cessation online registration: www.quitnow.net/oregon
Public Health Service Tobacco Cessation Guidelines and other Resources: www.surgeongeneral.gov/tobacco
Tobacco Free Coalition of Oregon (TOFCO): ww.tobaccofreeoregon.org/projects/miyb/toolkit/insurers.html
Smoke Free Families – Clinical practice resources, patient materials and more: http://tobacco-cessation.org/sf
Oregon Health Authority Tobacco Prevention and Education Program: http://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/TobaccoPrevention
Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, individuals in Oregon can be fined up to $250 (for first offense) for smoking in a vehicle while any youth younger than age 18 is present. The American Lung Association in Oregon led the fight during the 2013 Legislative Session to protect children from secondhand smoke in cars.
Find promotional materials and learn more about the purpose of the law and where to find help to quit smoking at www.smokefreecarsforkids.org.