OMA Awards Programs

Leadership. Innovation. Commitment to patients.

The Oregon Medical Association recognizes exemplary members of our community each year at the OMA Annual Conference. Typically, nominations (including self-nominations) are open during each awards cycle, with awardees honored on-site at the Annual Conference. The next round of nominations will go live in 2021. 

To nominate a candidate, you may either click on link above to complete a survey or you may send an email with the following information:
  • Your name
  • Your phone number
  • The name and contact information of the nominee
  • A bio, resumé, or curriculum vitae of the nominee
  • A brief explanation of why you think the nominee deserve the award
Specific examples of professional and civic accomplishments will assist the OMA’s selection committee in identifying award recipients.

Doctor-Citizen of the Year Award

Do you know a physician who has generously donated their time to community activities and who has tirelessly worked to further the art and science of medicine? If so, we encourage you to nominate the physician for the OMA’s Doctor-Citizen Award. This award, which began in 1957, recognizes the powerful impact a physician can have on our quality of life. It honors someone who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to improve the lives of his or her patients, to advance the practice of medicine, and to strengthen the communities in which they live and serve.


Physician Assistant-Citizen of the Year Award

The PA-Citizen Award recognizes a physician assistant who has generously donated their time to community activities and who exemplifies the highest values of a patient-centered, team-based medical practice.
Awardees will demonstrate outstanding volunteer service to their local community, going above and beyond the call of duty in the practice of medicine in providing care for patients as a collaborative partner of a clinical team, and as a champion in advancing professional opportunities for physician assistants. 

George E. Miller Patient Safety Award

This award is named after George E. Miller, MD, a pediatrician and dedicated advocate for improving patient safety, who passed away in 2007. Dr. Miller was appointed by Governor Ted Kulongoski to the Oregon Patient Safety Commission upon its formation in 2004, and served as the commission’s first board chairman. His 30-year medical career in Oregon also included service as medical director at Salem Hospital. Dr. Miller epitomized compassionate care and service to his community.

We honor Dr. Miller in the presentation of this award to a physician, healthcare provider, healthcare professional or community member who demonstrates the following qualities:

  • Leadership in promoting and implementing safe patient care
  • Innovation in patient safety and quality
  • Commitment to significant and sustainable improvements in patient care