October 10, 2022

Marianne Parshley, MD, Sworn in as 147th President of the Oregon Medical Association

PORTLAND, Ore.—At its Annual Conference on Saturday, October 1, 2022, the Oregon Medical Association, the state’s largest advocacy association for physicians and physician assistants, met to hear from experts around the country on the topic of Transition and Resilience – Practice Transformation Opportunities in a Post Pandemic World. In addition, the OMA welcomed its 147th president, Marianne Parshley, MD, FACP, internal medicine specialist with Providence Medical Center Gateway.

In its first in-person conference since the start of the pandemic, the event included keynote addresses by Shantanu Nundy, MD, MBA, Chief Medical Officer for Accolade, and author of Care After Covid, Sylvia Trujillo, JD, MPP, Senior Director of Policy for OCHIN, Inc., and Michael Tutty, PhD, MHA, Group Vice President of Professional Satisfaction and Practice Sustainability at the American Medical Association.

Attendees also heard from six panels who weighed in on various topics impacting the field of medicine, from social determinants of health, value-based payments, and financial pressures to telehealth best practices, environmental advocacy, and youth suicide prevention.

Mark Fischl, MD, internal medicine specialist with the Salem Clinic, ended his tenure as the organization’s 146th president, passing responsibilities to Dr. Parshley.

Dr. Parshley devoted her acceptance speech to the importance of inclusivity and equity within healthcare and among physicians, PAs, and other health professionals, as well as mentoring the next generation of physicians and PAs in Oregon. Dr. Parshley is a strong advocate for whole-patient care, recognizing that health is affected by all parts of an individual’s life. She receivedher medical degree from Dartmouth Medical School and completed residency at Providence Medical Center. Dr. Parshley has been an active OMA member, serving on the Executive Committee since 2014.

During the daylong event, Dr. Fischl presented various awards, honors, and recognition to medical colleagues, including the Doctor-Citizen of the Year Award to Rachel Solotaroff, MD, MCR, the PA-Citizen of the Year Award to Rachel Stappler, MHS, PA-C, presidential citations to Richard Allen, MD, Chris Apgar, CISSP, CCISO (posthumously), and Sylvia Emory, MD, as well as Equity & Diversity Recognition to Trisha Chau, medical student, Mollie Marr, PhD and medical student, Eva McCarthy, DO, Riva Shah, MD, and Liz Sokolowski, MD. Full descriptions of each award and honor is available online at

The OMA also welcomed new and returning members of its executive committee: President, Marianne Parshley, MD, FACP, Portland; Past-President, Mark Fischl, MD, Salem; President-Elect, Amy Hinrichs, MD, Beaverton; Vice President, Heidi Beery, MD, Roseburg; Secretary-Treasurer, Nathan Defrees, MD, Baker City; Speaker, Brian Duty, MD, Portland; Vice-Speaker, Reva Ricketts-Loriaux, DO, Portland, who emceed the conference; and members-at-large, Pat Kenney-Moore, PA-C, EdD, Portland and John Turner, MD, Silverton.


The Oregon Medical Association (OMA) is the state’s largest professional organization engaging in advocacy, policy, community-building, and networking opportunities for Oregon’s physicians, physician assistants, and medical and PA students. In the state capitol of Salem and in Washington, DC, the OMA’s members speak with one voice as they advocate for policies that improve access to quality patient care and reduce administrative burdens on medical professionals. Headquartered in Portland, Oregon, the OMA is a 501(c)6 organization governed by a Board of Trustees. Additional information is available at